Sin hinders my fellowship with God.

January 15, 2008

SCRIPTURE:

Genesis 28-29, Psalm 15, Matthew 18

OBSERVATION:

15:1 O Lord, who shall sojourn in your tent?
Who shall dwell on your holy hill?

2 He who walks blamelessly and does what is right
and speaks truth in his heart;
3 who does not slander with his tongue
and does no evil to his neighbor,
nor takes up a reproach against his friend;
4 in whose eyes a vile person is despised,
but who honors those who fear the Lord;
who swears to his own hurt and does not change;
5 who does not put out his money at interest
and does not take a bribe against the innocent.
He who does these things shall never be moved.

There’s much talk about drawing near to God…about intimacy and closeness. A lot of talk about being in his presence…not only even in Christian circles…but with anyone who believes that there is a God…there seems to be a desire to draw near to him. makes sense. There’s a lot of talk about ‘finding’ him, as if he were hiding from us.

It seems to be a common expectation that nearness to God can happen through an emotional religious experience…and so things like this are often said: “Just press into his presence”. What does that mean, anyway?

I’m not so sure that it’s as complicated as it’s often made out to be. Psalm 15 certainly seems to make it sound simple. Not easy…but simple. It says that the ones who will walk closely to God, who will dwell on his holy mountain, will be the ones who walk in holiness, and live uprightly.

My sin doesn’t sever my union with God, I don’t stop being saved when I sin…however, it does sever my fellowship with God, it does drive me from his presence, it does hinder my ability to know him intimately and deeply.  I’ll not dwell in the presence of God, if I walk in the pathways of the wicked!  It’s not rocket-science! However, when I’m not following Jesus well, when I’m not walking in holiness, I still think that if I hit my knees and cry out with a lot of emotion, then he’ll come and fellowship with me.  Not according to Psalm 15…the presence of God is available to us, intimacy with him is an option…but he points out that we dwell with him on his holy mountain…so we should expect to do some climbing to get there!

7 “Woe to the world for temptations to sin! [12] For it is necessary that temptations come, but woe to the one by whom the temptation comes! 8 And if your hand or your foot causes you to sin, cut it off and throw it away. It is better for you to enter life crippled or lame than with two hands or two feet to be thrown into the eternal fire. 9 And if your eye causes you to sin, tear it out and throw it away. It is better for you to enter life with one eye than with two eyes to be thrown into the hell [13] of fire.

 

 

APPLICATION:

My application is a broad one…it’s to seek holiness!  And particularly the brand of holiness taught in Psalm 15, which talks about selflessness, and placing others first, and having a holy fear of God.  and my second application, is to prepare myself for the truth that I’ll not just wake up godly in the morning…the Mountain of God has to be climbed!

PRAYER:

Lord, you are holy!  You are worth of all praise!

Father, there is nothing like being in your presence…nothing more wonderful than walking closely with you.  Lord, I know that you are offended by sin, and that it hinders our fellowship…please help me to walk in holiness, to not disrupt my pursuit of you with selfish pursuits, and to have the character and integrity, to diligently climb your holy mountain!

in the name of Jesus, amen.

One Response to “Sin hinders my fellowship with God.”


  1. [...] seen the same basic message in a couple Psalms already…I talked about it here. But once again, as I read this text, I’m captured by the same idea.  There is often a lot [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

