Do as I do…

May 8, 2008

Well, it’s ‘back on the saddle again’ for me. I’m straight up out of excuses. Bryce is sleeping through the night more often than not, and, as of this week, I have more help at the church…the end result is that when I’m free for a moment I can do more that just stare at the wall in a semi-catatonic state. They weren’t legit excuses before…and now even they are gone…so it’s back on the saddle again!

Scripture:

Ruth 2-4, Psalm 117, I Cor. 11

Observation:

11:1 Be imitators of me, as I am of Christ.

Paul was gutsy. He knew and understood the implications of his role as an Apostle…and so he stood and declared to all: ‘imitate me!’ The Corinthian church lacked strong leadership and direction, and so Paul said, “I”ll carry that mantle…I”ll be an example. Follow my lead!”

What a huge responsibility! And it’s one that he held for all the churches. He embraced it. I hate this part of being a pastor. I don’t want this particular responsibility. I can’t get around it, though. I can stand in front of everybody on Sunday and announce: “Do as I say, not as I do.” But it wouldn’t work. If I’m a hypocrite, then I’m a hypocrite…and people will see, and people will be affected by it…maybe stumble themselves because of it.

But forget the Pastor part of it…it’s the same for everyone everywhere. We’re all called to be ambassadors for Christ, to be his representatives to the world. We are all being watched. Watched by those who don’t believe, and are wondering if perhaps this Christianity thing is legit. It’s a great responsibility.

Application:

My application is to represent Christ well. In one sense that would require perfection. Anything short of perfection would fall short of representing a perfect God. Uh-oh! If my application is to be perfect…then I’m in trouble! Or perhaps it wouldn’t require perfection…but rather just my best efforts and massive quantities of humility. The one’s that are watching aren’t looking for perfection as much as they’re looking for humility. If, in my humility, I admit that I’ve been striving to be like Christ but have fallen short, I’ve represented not only his perfection…but his grace as well.

Prayer:

Lord, I want to be be holy. I want to be just like you. And I long for the day when I see you face-to-face…because I know that the Bible says that when we see you we will be like you. In the meantime, Holy Father, hlep me to walk in purity…to represent you well, and pursue righteousness. And, Lord, please save me from foolish pride an dishonesty…so that when I do fall short, I don’t get caught up in trying to keep appearances…but instead plead for mercy, and declare your grace.

I love you, Lord. Thank you for being my teacher…help me to be a good student…and may it all be for the sake of your name alone.

In the name of Jesus, Amen

Leave a comment