if

May 27, 2008

Scripture:

2 Samuel 10-11, Psalm 119:137-144, Colossians 1-2

Observation:

Colossians is an amazing letter. There’s as much theology crammed in those opening two chapters as there is anywhere else in the Bible that I can think of. This time through, I’m caught by a text that speaks to a gray theological area for me:

21 And you, who once were alienated and hostile in mind, doing evil deeds, 22 he has now reconciled in his body of flesh by his death, in order to present you holy and blameless and above reproach before him, 23 if indeed you continue in the faith, stable and steadfast, not shifting from the hope of the gospel that you heard, which has been proclaimed in all creation [9] under heaven, and of which I, Paul, became a minister.

Verse 22 is beautiful..his death and resurrection, so that I might stand before him blameless and above reproach. How far reaching that statement really is! Blameless and above reproach! What an amazing gift the Gospel is to us! But verse 23 is what puts the spotlight on a gray area: the question of eternal security. Once saved always saved. Preservation of the saints. whatever you call it, it’s this widely held belief that we cannot lose our salvation under any circumstances. I love that teaching…it feels good…it sounds like really good news…and there’s tons of scriptures that seem to infer that very thing. But, I’m not convinced it’s accurate. There’s a lot of verses that speak to it…but in this text, it’s that nasty two-letter word: “if.” If, indeed you continue in the faith, stable and steadfast, not shifting from the hope of the Gospel that you heard. If. Apparently we have the choice not to continue in the faith…not to remain stable and steadfast…to shift away from Christ and to put our hope elsewhere. Nothing can separate me from God (romans 8), I’m as sure of that as I am of anything…but I can choose to step away from him. that doesn’t happen by stumbling along the way, or by reaching some invisible sin quota…it can only happen if we choose to reject Jesus. It doesn’t happen very often, I don’t believe. But it happens.

so here’s our response:

6 Therefore, as you received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in him, 7 rooted and built up in him and established in the faith, just as you were taught, abounding in thanksgiving.

8 See to it that no one takes you captive by philosophy and empty deceit, according to human tradition, according to the elemental spirits [10] of the world, and not according to Christ. 9 For in him the whole fullness of deity dwells bodily, 10 and you have been filled in him, who is the head of all rule and authority. 11 In him also you were circumcised with a circumcision made without hands, by putting off the body of the flesh, by the circumcision of Christ, 12 having been buried with him in baptism, in which you were also raised with him through faith in the powerful working of God, who raised him from the dead. 13 And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, 14 by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross. 15 He disarmed the rulers and authorities [11] and put them to open shame, by triumphing over them in him. [12]

Application:

walk in him. rooted and build up in him. established in the faith. abounding in thanksgiving! that should be my m.o.–not to maintain my salvation, but as the only appropriate response to a God who canceled the record of sin against me and set it aside and nailed it to the Cross forever!

Prayer:

Lord, thank you for your word!  Your salvation!  Help me, Lord, to walk in your ways…not as some sin management program, and not as a misguided way to try and maintain my salvation…but, as an expression of gratitude and faithfulness for a God who has saved me, and love me deeply, and fellowships with me!

I love you!

Amen.

Leave a comment