Pictures of godliness

May 30, 2008

Scripture:

2 Samuel16-17, Psalms 119:161-168, 1Thessalonians 3-5

Observation:


164 Seven times a day I praise you
for your righteous rules.
165 Great peace have those who love your law;
nothing can make them stumble.
166 I hope for your salvation, O Lord,
and I do your commandments.
167 My soul keeps your testimonies;
I love them exceedingly.
168 I keep your precepts and testimonies,
for all my ways are before you.

The psalmist is painting a picture of a godly life…hoping in the salvation of the Lord, keeping and loving the testimonies of hte Lord.  But it’s vss. 164-165 that caught my eye.  Seven times a day the Psalmist stopped what he was doing, and praised the Lord!  And then the next verse gives two great promises: those who love the law of the Lord will have peace, and nothing can make them stumble!

11 Now may our God and Father himself, and our Lord Jesus, direct our way to you, 12 and may the Lord make you increase and abound in love for one another and for all, as we do for you, 13 so that he may establish your hearts blameless in holiness before our God and Father, at the coming of our Lord Jesus with all his saints.

In writing the Thessalonians Paul paints pictures of godliness as well.  he says above that to increase and abound in love, is to be established as blameless and holy before the Lord.  Several times in scripture it seems that the commandment to love is given as the overarching principle of godliness, and here it seems to be saying that as well.

12 We ask you, brothers, to respect those who labor among you and are over you in the Lord and admonish you, 13 and to esteem them very highly in love because of their work. Be at peace among yourselves. 14 And we urge you, brothers, admonish the idle, [18] encourage the fainthearted, help the weak, be patient with them all. 15 See that no one repays anyone evil for evil, but always seek to do good to one another and to everyone. 16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. 19 Do not quench the Spirit. 20 Do not despise prophecies, 21 but test everything; hold fast what is good. 22 Abstain from every form of evil.

This is an amazing list!  I think it’d be cool if every workplace had this hanging on the wall as company rules.  What a workplace that would be if these principles were followed!  This is a list of ways to maintain the spirit of the law, and live the Spirit of Christ.

What a high standard it is…but with obvious fruit, what joy this list would create if followed.  i want that!

Application:

Keep the list!  To treat others as Paul commands the Thessalonians to treat one another.  to pray without ceasing…to rejoice always…to be thankful in all circumstances because in all circumsance I am redeemed!

Prayer:

Lord, I love you deeply!  I want to live for you…and I want to walk in the joy and peace and victory that comes only from obedience.  I’ve seen glimpses of it, as I ahve, at times, walked well in your ways…but I long for it again and more deeply than ever.  I know the way to do that…you’ve made it clear.  help me in this, Lord.  And let it be for your glory!

I love you!  Amen!

Leave a comment